h1

July 21

July 21, 2009

Hello, all.

I now write to you from my apartment just off the campus of Sunshine Coast. I say the campus because there is only one university nearby, so there is no really reason to specify which one. The weather has been nothing less than perfect, with shorts and t-shirt temperatures in the afternoon, and light sweater weather in the evening, with a dash of heavy sweatshirt in the late night. For someone who loathes being cold, unless she is trying to sleep, such as myself, there is not a climate better.

Quite a bit has happened since the last update, starting with a Germs concert in Phoenix and the conclusion of my portion of the road trip. Now the boys are on their own for gas money and hopefully share enough common sense to make it home in one piece. I had a wonderful time, kept my mind far away from my departure until almost the moment it happened, and finally go to see the pretty parts of America. Plus I got to see Izzy and Jeff and Lily and Aliza, and others as well, go to my first punk show, and have my first camping in the woods experience. Not to mention sleeping behind a Dominos pizza that called itself an RV park.

But, what is probably more interesting to those of you who bother to read this blog, what have the few and short (very short, as the sun is set by 5 or 5:30) been like? Well, they have been delightful. No one story really stands out in my mind at this point, but I have met a few lovely people and explored the area a little bit. After spending heaps (and heaps and heaps) of money on various things, I am just about all settled in, and the jet lag is starting to wear down. As much as everyone said that jet lag would be terrible awful holy crap you’re gonna die!, it really wasn’t that bad. I had trouble staying awake past 7 pm for three days, but did it anyway, and woke up at four in the morning yesterday wide awake, but otherwise, no problems.

My roommates are nice enough. One has yet to move in, one is German, and one is Australian. The German girl, Anna, is very nice, and we get along very well. The Australian, Sandy, seems nice, but we haven’t spoken much. He cleaned the kitchen today. Cool. Also, he plays the guitar.

I went out and bought pretty stationary today, so if you would like a letter writing correspondence, I would be more than happy to oblige. You’ll get many more details, and you’ll be able to read about all of my neurotic moments I won’t publish here for fear of looking like as much of a spaz as I am. Email me your address at Tasia.karoutsos@mail.goucher.edu

Andy, I’m going to be sending all of my letters to Goucher people in one envelope addressed to you, so I can save on postage. Please distribute them promptly. Otherwise I’ll take away your responsibility and have Lily do it.

That’s it for now! I think I’m going to take a walk in the chilly night air.
Tasia Karoutsos

03 Apartment 17

8 Varsity View Court
Sippy Downs 4556

5 comments

  1. please please please PLEASE write to me! <3


    • I WANT LETTERS
      glad things are going well! roommates who clean things are always wonderful. Take lots of photos!
      and, really? Andy was your first choice for letter responsibility?


  2. Will do lady. I miss you already, I was thoroughly worried about you during the time you were in the air. In the time I was gone, my dad crashed my compy and completely erased my harddrive, so I have yet to get Skype, but I’m working on it. Also, I have the pretty earrings that you left in Uday’s car. I shall mail them to you promptly if you give me your address.


  3. ah, sounds excellent! bravo!



Leave a Reply

