h1

one of those days

October 12, 2009

What do you mean “those days?” Are you saying all days look alike?!

Sorry, that was dumb.
Anywho! I’ve been feeling very self-righteous today, so I went to the library during my hour break between pointless lecture and dull presentation heavy tutorial, and found the gender studies section (finally). They did not have the book I really want to read, Judith Halberstam’s Female Masculinity, but I found my good old friend Simone de Beauvoir, so I checked that out. She’s actually pretty fun to read when you don’t have a time limit on when you need to get it done. It’d be nice to get the whole book read by the end of term, but I think we all know that isn’t going to happen. So I’ll just enjoy the read and see what happens.

So instead of going to a mac lab and making sure that my presentation was all pretty the way I saw it on my laptop, I sat around feeling very intellectual and down with (the) man. However this was a totally n00b mistake, because, as anyone involved in digital art knows, something created and colored on one screen will never, ever look the same as it will on a different screen. So image my desire to face-palm in the middle of my presentation when I realized that I had apparently used two different shades of black somehow, making the overall book look dull, flat, and sloppy. I’ve never worked so many hours on a single project in my entire academic career as I did on this one only to have it look hastily chucked together because of a rookie mistake. Boy, was I feeling the overwhelming urge to flip shit. But, I held back, because everything in the labs is expensive and so as not to appear as crazy as I actually am in front of the woman holding my grade in her hands.

When I get home, more computer awaits me, because my mac has decided that it doesn’t feel like running programs anymore. Quicktime is constantly freezing, iTunes refused to even launch, and firefox was running the slowest I’ve ever seen it on this system. After a bit of panicing, I deleted a slew of old programs, music, movies, and documents to clear some space. This was followed by resetting the PRAM a billion times, consolidating my music, because for some reason my computer decided to make two copies of everything, and, finally, uninstalling and reinstalling iTunes. Now things seem to be running better, so hopefully I won’t have a total systems failure before I get home. If this thing dies, I’m seriously boned, because there is no way in hell I can afford to fix or replace it. So fingers crossed we make it for a few years longer!

So I guess this hasn’t been the best of days. On the up side, Sandy gave me an album he downloaded from the band Mumford & Sons called Sigh No More, which is probably one of the best I’ve heard in a while, particularly the song “Little Lion Man.” One word: banjo. Nuff said.

“Here is a miraculous balm for those afflicted with an inferiority complex, and indeed no one is more arrogent towards women, more aggressive or scornful, than the man who is anxious about his virility.”
See, this is really a much funnier read now that there’s no stress about the whole thing.

2 comments

  1. Meow! I’m sorry that computer imaging is silly, lady. I’ll do a please-live-computer dance for you to send good vibes to you and your faltering machine.

    On the other hand, I’m really glad that Sandy gave you that album, and that you posted stuff about it in your blog, because I really like it.

    I hope things get better and less fail-y for you. I think you’re awesome. Loff!



  2. This is for you.
    I hope your macbook gets better. I cracked the screen on my Iphone and will be replacing it all for the low low price of fucking expensive on wednesday.
    Balls.
    I miss you duders, I am making a mural on the dining room wall of a cat jumping over the moon. Shmaow maow.



Leave a Reply

