h1

I don’t wanna go

January 9, 2010

Well, I finally saw it. Doctor Who: The End of Time Part 2. The last Doctor Who episode with the beautiful, amazing David Tennant. The only Doctor I really cared to watch, although I’ll probably dog back through the Doctor Who annals because I’m going to miss him so much. I mean, I was never a Doctor Who fanatic, but since I’ve been home for this break, I’ve been recording and watching all of the David Tennant episodes I could find, and find myself quite hooked on the show.

The Doctor’s final words were “I don’t wanna go.” Chills. Seriously, I got mad chills. It was so fitting and honest. He didn’t face his “death” with open arms and total nobility. He tied up his loose ends in a restless, sad sort of way, dreading what was to come next. And when it came, he wanted to avoid it, to continue living. I love that! I’m so sick of the accepting death thing that everyone things is so great and right. Death is not so cool. It’s the end that doesn’t necessarily have a new beginning. Religion, After Life, Karma, Cycles, whatever. If I was facing death, I wouldn’t want to go, either. And it only makes my nerdy fan crush on this Doctor grow to see that he’d rather continue living than complacently accept passing into nothing.

Okay, sorry. I’m just really pumped after watching that episode.

Another cool thing about this Doctor Who is Donna Noble, his last female traveling companion. Donna is different that the other ladies on the show because she is older and bigger. She is not too big, nor is she even above average, but she is not like Rose Tyler or Martha Jones, who are both stunning and slender. And you can tell that the Doctor loves Donna, and that even though he still loves Rose, she’s special to him. And for someone as strangely attractive as the Tenth Doctor to fall for Donna, it means that TV did something really cool and mature. It’s not like every single other TV couple that looks like this.

When I find money, I’m so going to invest in the Tenth Doctor seasons, DVD style.

One comment

  1. My dad (who watched many of the Doctor Who seasons back in the day) tells me that the “tying up loose ends” is especially poignant because the Doctor has always had a self-imposed rule about NOT affecting the natural time line for personal reasons. Everything he did, was extremely personal.

    As for Donna, I do appreciate that she is not a hot, skinny, young little thing– however, I love Rose and the Doctor-Rose relationship. Granted, I only ever saw the first handful of episodes with Donna, so maybe I am not making a fair comparison. But, that’s my opinion. Also, I never cared much for Martha. She was annoying and kind of inept, at least compared to Rose.



Leave a Reply

